Skip to Main Content
Skip to Main Content

Graduate Medical Education Program

Graduate Medical Education Program

At Maricopa Integrated Health System (MIHS) you will become a part of an elite group of physicians trained to exceed ordinary expectations. Our residents and fellows represent the top medical graduates of some of the finest medical schools across the country.

We train more than 350 residents and fellows in 12 graduate medical education programs every year, ranging from pediatrics to psychiatry. In fulfilling their responsibilities, the administrators, hospital boards and faculty of MIHS are committed to supporting quality graduate medical education programs and excellence in residency training and research.

MIHS ensures all of its graduate medical education programs meet or exceed the institutional and program requirements set by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education, the Council on Podiatric Medical Education, the American Society of Hospital Pharmacy, and the Commission on Dental Accreditation.

The 2017 New Resident Orientation will be held on June 15 & 16, 2017. Please note this orientation is mandatory.

Application Process

For a general overview of graduate medical education at MIHS, please contact the academic affairs department at 602-344-5366.

For information specific to one of our residency programs please see below.

Department of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry

Shayne Tomisato, MD, Program Director, shayne_tomisato@dmgaz.org

Kelly Sacco, Program Coordinator, kelly_sacco@dmgaz.org

Phone:  480-344-2026

Emergency Medicine 

Michael Epter, DO, Program Director, michael_epter@dmgaz.org

Michele (Miki) Flooring, Program Coordinator, michele_adair-russo@dmgaz.org

Phone:  602-344-5808

Department of Internal Medicine

Shannon Skinner, Program Director, shannon_skinner@dmgaz.org

Karen Boettcher, Program Coordinator, karen_boettcher@dmgaz.org

Phone:  602-344-1218

OB/GYN Department

Michael Brady, MD, Program Director, robert.brady@dignityhealth.org

Patricia Habak, MD, Associate Program Director, paticia_habak@dmgaz.org

Sabrina Duarte, Program Coordinator, sabrina_duarte@dmgaz.org 

Phone:  602-344-5444

Department of Pediatrics 

Lysette Borquez, Program Director, lysette_borquez@dmgaz.org  

Phone: 602-344-5885 

Podiatric Medicine and Surgery Residency with Reconstructive Rearfoot/Ankle

Bryan Roth, DPM, Program Director, bryan_roth@dmgaz.org

Donna Benavidez, Program Coordinator, donna_benavidez@dmgaz.org

Phone: 602-344-5611

Psychiatry

Chandrika Shankar, MD, Program Director, chandrika_shankar@dmgaz.org

Olivia Pearce, Program Coordinator, olivia_pearce@dmgaz.org

Phone:  480-344-2028

Radiology

Mary Connell, MD, Program Director, mary_connell@dmgaz.org

Stephanie Putman, Program Coordinator, Stephanie_Putman@dmgaz.org  

Phone:  602-344-1532

Surgery

Elizabeth Ferguson, MD, Program Director, elizabeth_ferguson@dmgaz.org

Lila Mirza, Program Coordinator, lila_mirza@dmgaz.org

Phone:  602-344-5445

Access MyChart

Your Secure Online Health Connection

Connect Now

NEED QUICK HELP?

Use the drop down for access to contact numbers or Contact Us via email>>

RECENT NEWS

View All News >>
  • June 19, 2017
    Arizona Burn Center issues warning about dangers of excessive heat

    Doctors with MIHS’s Arizona Burn Center today issued warnings about the dangers of excessive summer heat as Arizona prepares for record breaking temperatures. Burn Center Director Dr. Kevin Fost... Read More

  • May 12, 2017
    First psychotic episode? Seek early treatment

    Ask a Doc: Research shows that the longer the psychosis remains untreated, the more brain damage can occur. Read More

  • February 24, 2017
    A $1 Billion Maricopa County Hospital Makeover Is Set In Motion

    The board that oversees Maricopa Medical Center has awarded a contract to a construction firm to help manage the nearly $1 billion project of remaking the region's safety-net health system. Read More

  • February 22, 2017
    Firms chosen to build Maricopa County’s new public teaching hospital and health care system

    The Maricopa County Special Health Care District Board of Directors today took an important step in construction of our community’s new public teaching hospital and safety net health care system by selecting the company that will oversee system planning, project execution and cost and quality management. Read More