Graduate Medical Education Program

Graduate Medical Education Program

At Maricopa Integrated Health System (MIHS) you will become a part of an elite group of physicians trained to exceed ordinary expectations. Our residents and fellows represent the top medical graduates of some of the finest medical schools across the country.

We train more than 400 physicians in 12 graduate medical education programs every year, ranging from pediatrics to psychiatry. In fulfilling their responsibilities, the administrators, hospital boards and faculty of MIHS are committed to supporting quality graduate medical education programs and excellence in residency training and research.

MIHS ensures all of its graduate medical education programs meet or exceed the institutional and program requirements set by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education, the Council on Podiatric Medical Education, the American Society of Hospital Pharmacy, and the Commission on Dental Accreditation.

The 2016 New Resident Orientation will be held on June 15 & 17, 2016. Please note this orientation is mandatory.

Application Process

For a general overview of graduate medical education at MIHS, please contact the academic affairs department at 602-344-5366.

For information specific to one of our residency programs please see below.

Department of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry

Shayne Tomisato, MD, Program Director, shayne_tomisato@dmgaz.org

Kelly Sacco, Program Coordinator, kelly_sacco@dmgaz.org

Phone:  480-344-2026

Emergency Medicine 

Michael Epter, DO, Program Director, michael_epter@dmgaz.org

Michele (Miki) Flooring, Program Coordinator, michele_adair-russo@dmgaz.org

Phone:  602-344-5808

Department of Internal Medicine

Shannon Skinner, Program Director, shannon_skinner@dmgaz.org

Karen Boettcher, Program Coordinator, karen_boettcher@dmgaz.org

Phone:  602-344-1218

OB/GYN Department

Michael Brady, MD, Program Director, robert.brady@dignityhealth.org

Patricia Habak, MD, Associate Program Director, paticia_habak@dmgaz.org

Sabrina Duarte, Program Coordinator, sabrina_duarte@dmgaz.org 

Phone:  602-344-5444

Department of Pediatrics 

Vasu Bhavaraju, MD, Program Director, vbhavaraju@phoenixchildrens.com

Stephanie Putman, Residency Coordinator, Stephanie_putman@dmgaz.org   

Phone: 602-344-5885 

Podiatric Medicine and Surgery Residency with Reconstructive Rearfoot/Ankle

Bryan Roth, DPM, Program Director, bryan_roth@dmgaz.org

Donna Benavidez, Program Coordinator, donna_benavidez@dmgaz.org

Phone: 602-344-5611

Psychiatry

Chandrika Shankar, MD, Program Director, chandrika_shankar@dmgaz.org

Olivia Pearce, Program Coordinator, olivia_pearce@dmgaz.org

Phone:  480-344-2028

Radiology

Mary Connell, MD, Program Director, mary_connell@dmgaz.org

Norma Valverde, Program Coordinator, norma_valverde@dmgaz.org

Phone:  602-344-1532

Surgery

Elizabeth Ferguson, MD, Program Director, elizabeth_ferguson@dmgaz.org

Lila Mirza, Program Coordinator, lila_mirza@dmgaz.org

Phone:  602-344-5445

Access MyChart

Your Secure Online Health Connection

Connect Now

NEED QUICK HELP?

Use the drop down for access to contact numbers or Contact Us via email>>

RECENT NEWS

View All News >>
  • December 06, 2016
    Mary Rose Wilcox Joins Maricopa County Special Health Care District Board of Directors

    Mary Rose Wilcox today joined the five-member Maricopa County Special Health Care District Board of Directors, which oversees Maricopa County’s only public health care system. Mary Rose replaces Terence McMahon, who has served on the board for the last 4 years. Read More

  • November 21, 2016
    Special Health Care District Board Takes First Step Toward New Health System for Maricopa County

    The Maricopa County Special Health Care District Board of Directors today took the first step in building a new health system by unanimously approving an agreement with Vanir Construction Management, Inc., to provide pre-award programming for Integrated Program Management Construction Services. Read More

  • November 15, 2016
    MIHS and Johns Hopkins University Awarded $4.2 Million Grant

    Researchers at Maricopa Integrated Health System and the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine have been awarded a $4.2 million federal grant to study whether Emergency Departments can be used t... Read More

  • October 26, 2016
    Major Valley Healthcare Providers Plan New Academic Affiliation

    Creighton University to Oversee and Broaden Medical Education Programs at Dignity Health St. Joseph’s and Maricopa Integrated Health System PHOENIX, Ariz., and OMAHA, Neb. - With Arizona faci... Read More